Thread: Job on ISSL - work permit still a problem?

NevilleSummers is offline Junior Member

Default Job on ISSL - work permit still a problem?

Hello,
    I have been reading quite a lot on this forum, and I was wondering if you could help me out on my first posting :-)
    I am a Restaurant Manager with 7 years of experience. The job situation does not look very good, and therefore I was looking into some options. One option is definitely NZ, where my job description in on the ISSL, which means that no qualified NZ can be found (in the listed areas), and therefore NZ Immigration should accept foreigners. As far as I know the possible employer does not even need to proove that he was looking for a Kiwi, since the job is on the ISSL. Any comments? Any experiences?
    Now I am thinking of flying to NZ for 3 months and go on a job hunt, since possible employers want to see you usually in person. Anybody ever done this before. How do you think are chances of getting a job. I do think that I have quite good experience, and education.
    Best regards,
    Neville

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Neville and welcome to MTNZ.