Thread: work permit or?.......

bazza is offline Junior Member

Default work permit or?.......

Hi i am currently living in New Zealand and have fallen in love with the country fully. I hold a 23 month working holiday visa and have already worked 12 months of that, so therefore as i understand it ,i cannot work any longer. I am an Air conditioning/Refrigeration engineer and have had a job offer from a company in Christchurch,i have 5 years experience in this trade. I intend to stay in New Zealand for good now,so what is my next step? Do I apply for a work permit? If so how long does this last? Or is there another route which i should take? Sorry to bombard you with questions,but i would really appreciate your help as i find the whole immigration thing a bit confusing!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Bazza and welcome to MTNZ.

Have you looked on the Long Term Skill Shortage List to see if your job title is on there? If it is you can submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) and push forward for Permanent Residency .

This is a quick check for the Work Permit . route and these are the requirements . The WP is a temporary visa but can be renewed. If you have been working in NZ under one of the Work to Residence categories you can apply for PR after 2 years .

I don't know how much you've read up about immigration and the INZ so I don't want to bombard you with too much reading to begin with. Perhaps you can fill us in on how clued up you are and we can try to help with filling in the blanks.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

bazza is offline Junior Member

Default which way to allow me to stay?