Thread: Need Advice on WHV/Skilled Migrant Visa

dracon is offline Junior Member

Default Need Advice on WHV/Skilled Migrant Visa

Hello to All,

I have a question on WHV/Skilled Migrant Visa. Both me and my husband are US citizens, we went to NZ for our honeymoon and loved the place very much. We want to move to NZ for 3+ years. I am a certified public accountant in US with 3 years of experience, and my husband has a business in IT from last 8 years. We were thinking of going to NZ on WHV and then apply for PR through the skilled migrant visa, we do not plan to work for any employer there, and plan to continue our business in US remotely - while in NZ. Can you please advice if the route that we are taking is the right way to gain entry in NZ or should we opt for applying for Skilled Migrant Visa at the first place. Do you think we will be accepted under Skilled Migrant visa even though we do not have any job offer in NZ or do not plan on working for any employer. We definitely want to live in NZ for atleast 3 years. I do not know how many points we will get under Skilled migrant category, the points system seems very confusing to me.
    Also, both me and my husband are between ages 20-29. And I hold master's degree in Accountancy with CPA license and my husband hold's bachelor's degree in Marketing. Can his experience in IT be qualified under Absolute shortage skills and also future growth areas. Can someone helps us find out how many points we might be able to accumulate before we submit our EOI. Thank you!!!!
    Please advice. Your help is greatly appreciated!

Shilpi
    Last edited by dracon; 11-03-2008 at 04:01 PM.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Shilpi and welcome to MoveToNZ.