Thread: Work to residence query

froggy is offline Junior Member

Default Work to residence query

Hi,

I have a query regarding work to residence. My partner is trying to find a sponsored job through an agency to go to New Zealand next year (his profession is on the long term skilled shortage), and we wanted really to apply then for work to residence visa and later on, for PR once in NZ. I'm not really keen on applying for PR straight away, even with a job offer, as I think that would be more difficult and risky. Am I right in thinking that ? And also more expensive I believe. My partner would meet the points number but just I think, unless I have my degree recognised by NZQA which means extra spendings. I would feel more comfortable in going for work to residence first. Can anybody advise me on this ?

Many thanks.
    Froggy.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Froggy

I don't know that getting PR would be 'more risky' as long as you have enough points and satisfy all the other criteria, a lot of which you would have to undertake for the WTR route anyway.

With the WTR you are tied to one employer for 2 years so it's a gamble whether you get a job you're happy with. With PR you can choose who to work for and can move about within the job market as you wish (unless you have a Section 18A imposed where you have to stay with the original employer for 3 months, I believe).