Thread: Need your expert opinion :)

raghu123 is offline Junior Member

Default Need your expert opinion :)

Hi Mother Bear,
    Warm greetings from India
    I am Raghu from India. I work as a Technical Writer (Software Documentation) and have close to 4 yes experience in this area including Insturctional Design (developing e-learning content). Recently i have got married and my wife works for GE. She worked as a Technical Support representative for 2 .5 years and recently was allowed to shift to IT side as a DBA. I have a Chemical Engineering degree and she is a Elecrtonics Engineering graduate. She plans to do her Oracle DBA certifiation in another 4 months,

Now i have appled for PGDIP in business management and PGDIP in IT computing for higher studies program in NZ and hope to find a job after comepletion of the course. I will be given 1 year work visa to find a job after the course and while i am studying my spouse would be given a work visa to work for an year.

Now my query is how good is this move. I intend to get a job, a WP and finally a PR. I have already asked my wife to start applying for jobs online on NZ job portals. Do you have any suggestion that can help us, We got married last month and want to take this plunge as a young couple.

Thanks and Regards
    Raghu

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Raghu, welcome to the forum.

I've moved you to your very own thread rather than sharing someone else's.

It is always worth trying to find jobs before going to NZ, but not so easy to get one from outside the country. Many employers prefer to see you face to face and realise, because you have made the commitment to travel to NZ, that you are serious about working there. It's not impossible to get a job from outside, but be prepared to visit NZ for job-hunting if you aren't successful.

Good luck.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.