Thread: Is Work permit the best option?

migp is offline Junior Member

Default Is Work permit the best option?

Hello!

My partner and I plan to settle in NZ, we are from Cape Town, SA.

We are both somewhat unsure of what our best option ito being able to settle in NZ would be.

Part of me would like to go the "safer" route, EOI and then hopefully ITA etc. But, neither of us seem to have the skills/qualifications that are required. I am a Human Resource Manager with +10 years experience in that field - but no degree/diploma etc. My partner has a clerical/admin background - she has approx 5 years experience.

Applying for a job from SA is proving to be impossible, which I can understand - I would also not employ anyone that I have not had the opportunity to meet face-to-face!

We are now considering heading off to NZ as tourists and applying for work and the relevant permits from there. I just need reassurance from some of you that this would indeed be the better option - or not, for that matter?

It is a huge decision for us and failure is not an option, as if we were to fail, we would have nothing to come "home" to.

As I type this, I feel I am being engulfed by fear of the prospect of NZ - fear of failure, the unknown, rejection - but yet I know that we HAVE to do this as neither of us are prepared to continue living in SA.

We have both done a lot of research into NZ and the whole immigration process, but it seems the more research I do, the more uncertain i become of what our BEST options would in fact be.

Any tips or advice would be seriously appreciated!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Migp, welcome to MoveToNZ.