Thread: Work visa

froggy is offline Junior Member

Default Work visa

Hi,

My boyfriend and I have decided to make the move to NZ next september and we are planning to buy a return ticket and look for work once there, as we understand that we need a job offer to get a working visa.
    We hope to have it done within 3 months after our arrival.

My boyfriend is a Truck mechanics and has many years experience. Is there anybody out there with the similar background who could advise us if if is easy to get a job in this area and how much are the wages more or less ?

We are thinking of moving to Auckland, as we think it would be easier to get a job around there to start with, especially for me, as I work in the tourism industry and am more likely to find tour operators in a bigger city.

Also, if my boyfriend gets a job offer and asks then for his visa, can I apply for a visa as a partner as soon as he makes his requests, or do I need to wait for him to get his visa ?

I hope somebody can reply to our numerous questions.
    Thanks.

Froggy

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Default Work visa

Hi Froggy,

If your partner's job comes under 'Automotive Mechanics' then it is on the long term skills shortage list. If he doesn't have a recognised qualification, it could be that the only way he'd get work in NZ would be to go there and apply for jobs from within the country, which is what you intend doing anyway. If he does have a qualification, all well and good. According to this link there is a shortage of skilled mechanics in the Auckland area, so it would appear you'd be off to a good start.