Thread: Applying for Graduate Work Experience visa

kryptonite is offline Junior Member

Default Applying for Graduate Work Experience visa

I am currently on Graduate Job Search visa and also have a job in the field of my qualification. I am an IT Contract consultant (self employed) and currently hold a 3 month contract in an IT consulting company. My employer is willing to provide me with 2 or even 3 year contract for me so that I would work for him for long time.

I went through Graduate work experience visa requirements which says I must have a full time job offer. My question is does this full time job offer relate to
    permanent employment, or can self employment (as in my case) is also valid ? As I am employed by consulting company, I am not working there directly but
    for their clients onsite. I get paid according to the number of hours I spent working each month.

Also my employer is kind of encouraging me to apply for residence here. So, I have some questions:

1) Can I apply for Graduate work experience visa under self employment ? If yes, will there be any conditions attached to my visa that I can only work for this employer? Can I change employment if I get good offers from other employers ?

2) Can I apply for residence with this job offer while I am on graduate job search visa ? or will I have to get graduate work experience visa first?

Regards,
    Sandeep

PEO
    PEO is offline Junior Member

Hi Sandeep,
    I am also in your situation in near future. My back ground also IT but I am studing business administration in here. What did you studied in NZ. Hope if we can share our knowledge both of can find a solution.
    Regards,
    PEO

kryptonite is offline Junior Member

Quote Originally Posted by PEO View Post
    Hi Sandeep,
    I am also in your situation in near future. My back ground also IT but I am studing business administration in here. What did you studied in NZ. Hope if we can share our knowledge both of can find a solution.