Thread: Partnership Work Permit for national of non visa-free country

auz
    auz is offline Junior Member

Post Partnership Work Permit for national of non visa-free country

Hi this is the first time Ive posted here. I have looked for people with similar problems but to no avail. I hope someone is able to help because this issue is really starting to become frustrating.

I am a NZ citizen and met my Ukrainian girlfriend online about 10 months ago on a language site. In June we both traveled to Thailand to spend three weeks with each other. We decided that we would try a long distance relationship, and now are serious about trying to be together.

I am currently a post-graduate student and cannot travel and stay in Ukraine for a long period of time until I have finished my thesis at the end of next year. Optimally we would like to apply under the Partnership work permit so that she could spend next year with me. As we need to be living together at the time of application we thought that perhaps we could get the ball rolling by applying for a visitors visa for her and then apply for the Partnership work permit once she arrived. However, being Ukrainian she is likely to be issued a limited visa - meaning she can't apply for the Partnership work visa during the 3months she will be permitted to stay in NZ.

This is where is gets tricky, and I am now at somewhat of a loss. We want to progress our relationship, from long distance and skyping twice a day to being able to be together. Although I do not have the finances to continue small trips back and forth around the globe, I thought that perhaps over christmas I could travel to Ukraine and live with her for two months and apply for the PWP whilst there before I had to return to University here.

The main problem is that because she is from a non visa-free country, she can't just arrive and then apply for the PWP, like a German could come on a Working Holiday Visa and have privileges to change the visa status.