Thread: Please help - urgent work permit advice needed!!!

Irishgal is offline Junior Member

Default Please help - urgent work permit advice needed!!!

Hi there,
    I was wondering could someone on here please offer some advice. I am an Irish girl currently on a New Zealand work permit. I have been working in the same company for 18 months, in journalism.
    I had saved up enough annual leave so I can go back to Ireland for one month in August for a family wedding (I am in Ireland now for this). The thing is I really really want to leave my job in New Zealand as I absolutely hate it. I actually went for another job two months ago and got it, the only thing was that if I took it I would not have been able to go to Ireland in August for my sister wedding, which she would never forgive me for! So I turned down the job offer.

I am thinking of just ringing up and quitting my job from Ireland (giving two weeks notice) spending a little more time at home, and then flying back and trying to get another job, then reapplying for another work permit. I'm pretty confident I would get another job soon enough as I have quite a good CV. If I was on a working holiday visa I could do this, but I already used mine the first year I was in New Zealand.

I really like New Zealand and have a Kiwi boyfriend, just the thoughts of going back to my job there in three weeks makes my feel sick in my stomach. I was enjoying my job until six months ago when a new manager took over and have been trying to leave since. I would just quit, the only thing is that my work permit is tied to my job.

Has anyone else done this? Been on a work permit and quit a job without anything else lined up? Is it very risky? Any advice on what do would be appreciated,
    Thanks.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Irishgal, welcome.