Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Importing a car

Simon is offline Junior Member

Default Importing a car

Hi all,

Most people seem to be against importing a car but ours may make sense, we have a 2004 Mercedes ML270CDI which we have owned for well over 2 years here in the UK. It has been up for sale and the only response I have had are attempted scams. The value of the car here now is well under 10,000 as all 4x4s have now been taxed to death by our wonderfull government.
    Looking on the NZ Autotrader web site 2000 models are up for sale at around 10,000 and 2004 to 2005 models are in excess of 14,000 to 18,000.
    There only seems to be a few in NZ with the diesel engine and if we did bring it we would keep it for a while as I believe we would not be allowed to sell it for 12 months or so.
    I am a mechanic and can make sure the car is 100% before travel, I can also steam clean the underside at work, on arrival I understand it will need to be registered, inspected and a warrant of fitness issued. Has anyone done this and know of the rough costs and timescales involved?
    If I sold here for 8500 which seems to be a realistic selling price, or it costs me 3000 to ship it to NZ, I run it for a year and sell it for 11,500 then it has cost me nothing to own it for another year and I have a car that I know I am happy with. I know the advertised prices are asking prices but there is still a huge difference between the UK and NZ for the same vehicle.

Thanks in advance

Simon.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi Simon,