Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Money Worries

sleepy is offline Junior Member

Unhappy Money Worries

Howdy folks, this is a great site and Im sure comes in very handy for a lot of people.

I doubt I'll get the answer I want to hear, but just wondering if anyone has made the move without the same problem I have.

I'll do a bit of background first. I was over in New Zealand for a month and a half last year, and thought it would be great to move out there permanently. Im a single guy with no kids, so wouldn't really have wanted to go out there alone (Im shy, awwww) ... now one of my friends has told me that he's going over in January next year with a job offer doing Physiotherapy, so obviously Im jumping at the chance to go with him.
    Im a web developer, so I think that should be enough to attain the visa to go over there (was thinking of getting a 1 year Working Visa, looking for a job out there, then applying for a proper visa once the job is secured, is that ok?).
    The main problem I have is that I own my own flat in Scotland, UK, but have negative equity of probably about £20k in secured loans against the property. So, my question really is, has anyone made the move in a similar situation?
    If I sell my flat over here, will the secured loan people demand the money owed back immediately, or are they likely to just switch it to an unsecured loan?