Thread: Pros and cons of packing your own container etc.?

pianist is offline Junior Member

Default Pros and cons of packing your own container etc.?

We are trying to figure out if it is worth saving the money by not hiring a professional mover. I found out somewhere online that you can rent a container, pack it yourself and then have it shipped. We are in Gainesville, Florida now and will be moving to Christchurch sometime in August. I am dreading all these problems with mold, breakage etc. that I have read about. If anyone has moved from the US and has some good advice, I would love to hear from y'all. We are a couple and probably have around 7,000 lbs. to move (so said one of the moving companies who gave us an estimate).....our relocation allowance is only US$8k.
    Also, I am worried if I should try to move my Yamaha upright piano...will the heat crack the soundboard etc. I am a pianist and will need a piano. The used ones I saw online are inferior to mine for the price I would get if I sold it. Also, has anyone packed decorative silk flowers and trees in baskets? I know they are fussy about wicker - I have handmade baskets and stuff like that...no, I did not harvest these materials to make them. About shells, wood etc....I make jewelry for a hobby and have tons of beads...some made of shells and wood...not harvest by me either....come to think of it, I think the paua shell ones may have been harvest in NZ and sold to craft stores here in the US....how funny.
    We have started processing our cat for export....will make me $4k poorer by the time he gets there. Any recommendations for good pet transporters?
    This is so exciting, but also nerve-wrecking.....so many questions...so few answers! I am just delighted to find this forum!
    Please respond...any of you US migrants!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries