Thread: Christchurch vs. Wellington

peteyd33 is offline Junior Member

Default Christchurch vs. Wellington

Greetings! My wife and I have the opportunity to move to either Christchurch or Wellington and were looking for a fair comparison between the two cities. My wife will have a paid internship and I am a teacher that would most likely be looking for a job when we get there. We both spent time in NZ several years ago and have been waiting for the opportunity to get back. Below is a list of things we think are important when we move.

1) Access to outdoor activities (hiking, kayaking, climbing, biking)
    2) Costs of living (probably rent 1-2 apartment/house)
    3) Culture
    4) Nightlife (we are 26 and enjoy unique places with good music!)
    5) Transportation (we most likely will not be investing in a vehicle)
    6) Teaching opportunities (if you have any insight that would be greatly appreciated!)
    7) Any other general comments about the two cities

Thanks so much for any comments! I appreciate the help.

Peter

zummerzet_lou is offline your flexible friend
    Blog Entries

We only drove through a bit of Wellington, so am unable to offer you a comparison, but I can try and answer some of your questions from a Christchurch perspective.

Huge opportunities here ... North Canterbury offers you Mount Grey, Mount Thomas, Hamner Forest with hikes from 1 hr through to 5 hours one way. Kayaking - plenty of rivers and coastline, and every weekend you see people with Kayaks on their rooftops
    Cycling is fab (yes, I'm biased) - Canterbury is flat, but loads of foothills, and port hills too if you are feeling a little more energetic

Cost of living is cheaper than Wellington - have a look on trademe for a comparison.

3) Culture
    Supposed to be full of Culture here, although not sure why. There is an art museum, theatres etc ..

In Central Christchurch loads of clubs, bars etc with loads of live music to offer