Thread: Moving for education

SteeleSM is offline Junior Member

Unhappy Moving for education

I am from Canada and i need a place to live in New Zealand.
    I want to live in a place with a low crime rate, a safe place
    but a good art/film school? I don't like very busy cities +
    I'm very scared going by myself.

I also need help finding out about how to apply if i'm an international student.
    Message me if you can help me further

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

This is where you would start if you want to study in NZ.

I don't know if this is the sort of school you are looking for. Here is another one. These are both on the South Island and aren't big cities but, no doubt there are a few places to study in Auckland and Wellington, too.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

Samuelson88 is offline Junior Member

If you're scared of big cities I'd stay away from Auckland, plus the crime rate isn't the best in the country. I don't know what you call a very busy city. Wellington(population about 450,000) and Christchurch(population about 330,000) both have film/art schools but I'm not sure which one is better. I do know we have Weta workshop here in Wellington and it is called Wellywood because some movies are made here....Peter Jackson's studio type thing...so that would be good. If Dunedin has a decent school you'd want to go to, that may be an option for you. I lived there for almost a year. It's not a very big place and has a low crime rate. I know they have Otago University, maybe there is a film/art school there. I would suggest going to the place you can get the best education. You shouldn't be afraid of a place, you'd get used to it. If you come to Wellington, I can help you out with things and show you around. Hope this helps.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries