Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: North Island v South Island

welwynrose is offline Member

Default North Island v South Island

as you know we're hoping to come out the NZ next year with the hope of finding work & making the move official - at the moment hubby & I are unsure which is the best area to look at - hubby is a painter & decorator & I'm a bookkeeper/accounts person so both of us can work anywhere - I like the look of the South Island as I think a move to a less populated area would be good for us - the main problem being that I don't drive (could always learn though) - I've commuted & worked in London for more years than I can remember & hubby just goes where the work is - we're past the stage where we want to be out clubbing every weekend especially since we've had dogs - we've got no kids to worry about & were wondering about the advantages/disadvantages of both Islands

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Ah, the great north/south divide. I guess it's horses for courses when deciding where to live. What I would normally advise anyone is to go where the work is. Many people arrive in NZ with pre-conceived ideas about where they want to settle, but it's easier said than done if you can't find work in your ideal location.

Also, if you have the opportunity, it's always a good idea to try to tour around NZ, both to look for job opportunities and also to see how you feel about the different places. There's nothing like being there in person to get good or bad vibes about a place.

Certainly there is a smaller population in SI, but there's also great places in NI where you can still 'get away from it all'. If you don't drive, you would preferably need to be near a town or city so that your commute wouldn't be too difficult.

The weather in SI can be quite a bit colder than NI with snow in winter, but there's plenty of sunny days as well. It can snow in the centre of NI, too.