Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going for a rekkie in January.

Ellienbrian is offline Member

Default Going for a rekkie in January.

Hi everyone, it looks like things are moving pretty quickly for some of you. Congratulations to everyone on their way to NZ!!!!
    I'm a bit behind you, but looks like we are going out in January for a long holiday. So- where do I start? Any tips for how to plan a month or 6 week holiday? Any help gratefully received.
    I'm a nurse and other half is a landscape gardener. We fancy the north island or north of the south island, but any insider info would be great.
    Thanks, ellie.

Zemanova is offline Member

Well that is a challenge and where to start. Assuming you are arriving at Auckland you will probably like to look around Auckland and then move on to Northland, the warmest but arguable the wettest part of north island. You can of course hire a camper van or if that is not for you, motels are the best bet. January is a popular holiday month and we have always been advised to book ahead. We hadn't and we have always managed to find somewhere. Motels rooms cost from $80 to $120 dolars per night for the unit. You will find them in every town and offer they are grouped together in the same road.

Returning via Auckland, I would suggest the Waikato region is worth a good look. We are emigrating there in May next year. Hamilton is the largest town/city, although Cambridge is nice as is Matamata location of Hobbiton in LOTR) where we hope to settle. Tauranga on the east coast is a lovely city, although the rest of Bay of Plenty is somewhat devoid of interesting area to relocate.

Hawks Bay, with Napier and Gisborne is a popular region for many Brits. Personally we haven't made it that far in 3 visits and consider it too far out on a limb for our livestyle.