Thread: Christchurch/surrounding area?

drumminj is offline Member

Default Christchurch/surrounding area?

Hey all. I've picked Christchurch as my target location - I'm a software developer, and believe I would like to live on the South Island.

I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions of other places to look that might be a good fit, and also curious if anyone knows of a good website to get information about Christchurch and the surrounding areas to figure out where specifically I may want to live.

Thanks.

J

chucklesg is offline Junior Member

Howdy J...we just came back from Christchurch (Chch). Both are hi tech execs...thought like you, Christchurch was the place for us. But we found good jobs in Wellington. Chch recruiters poor as most companies are small and do not use recruiters, but we were told networking is the way. But you have to be there to network! Recruiters want to fill slots with bodies right away and they are not sensitive to migration issues. We talked with four of them, reportedly IT recruiters...but as you probably know, if you can't hack the IT world, you stumble off as a recruiter!

BTW, if you like Austin, you'll like Wellington!

Thanks for the reply, chuckles. I actually figured that the small size of most Chch software companies would be problematic. At the least, it'd make it so that, when they're hiring, they're looking to fill a position right away, not 6 months in the future.

So are there quite a few tech companies in Wellington, then?

Everything I've read about wellington has described it as being a more "cosmopolitan" town. I love how Austin is laid back - you can go to the nicest restaurant in town wearing at most a pair of jeans and a polo shirt and no one cares.

So did you take a trip just to look for jobs? How long were you there, and did you do any prep work before going there (contacting companies, etc), or did you just show up and start knocking on doors?

Thanks.

J

SteveNetWriter is offline Oh Masterful One

Hi,