Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kiwi open for questions

oakuradunn is offline Junior Member

Default Kiwi open for questions

Hey Everybody,
    I'm a kiwi (with family) in Taranaki NZ, and I thought if anybody wanted some honest feedback & possible answers etc from a kiwi, go ahead and ask.
    I can't give any feedback regarding immigration issues, but if you want some non tourism B.S from a kiwi who knows our country (warts and all) very well, then feel free to ask.

Cheers
    Mike Dunn

SHAZZ is offline Junior Member

Default GENERAL INFO PLEASE!

I am a student nurse and was wondering if you knew what sort of salary a nurse gets over your way? and also what your health service is like in general, do you have to pay for it? Also, what sort of price would you expect to pay for a second hand house, say 3/4 bedrooms and a reasonable garden? I'm asking because we are considering moving over sometime when i've finished my nurse training. What is the job situation like too? And do you kiwis have the same sense of humour as us Brits?
    Ta
    Sharon

Default Re: GENERAL INFO PLEASE! - mikes reply

HI Sharon,
    I'll get the info for you soon, my wife is an ICU nurse manager.

yes we do have the same sort of humour, we're just as sarcastic as you are. :)

Talk again.
    Mike Dunn

Default Re: GENERAL INFO PLEASE! - mikes reply

Sharon, to answer what I can, until I get info from "er in doors", the public hospital system is free, and private costs.

House prices like anywhere vary widely depending on where in the country.
    For instance in Grey lynn/ponsonby area of auckland the prices go from 500,000 NZ$ up. (3/4 bedm villa and small section/garden).
    (Everything is detached, we don't live in "semi detached" houses like you guys.)
    At the other scale you could get a 3/4 bdm house on 1/4 acre section in gore (bottom of sth island) for $150,000 NZ$.