Thread: Looking at amking a move

mcdonald family is offline Junior Member

Default Looking at amking a move

My family and I are looking to move to New Zealand. I am a History teacher by trade but have taught some Maths and ICT.

We are planning on a holiday to do a recce - probably this Easter during the holidays. We are thinking a fly drive starting in Auckland and working south.

Does anyone have any advice or guidance on making a move. Likewise if anyone is looking a History teacher who has written a number of electronic resources for publishing companies then I am interested.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Mcdonald Family, welcome to MTNZ.

Quote Originally Posted by mcdonald family View Post
    Does anyone have any advice or guidance on making a move.
    Could you please clarify what kind of advice you're looking for as this immigration lark is a huge subject. As mere laymen and unregistered immigration consultants, with the new regulations recently brought in, we are only permitted to pass on personal experience, information we have read about or our own personal opinions (I must keep reminding myself of this as I can get carried away at times ). Do you need help with the visa application process or with the actual move or both? Just to give us somewhere to start.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

francis1962 is offline Member

Hi Mc Donalds

We had 2 visits to NZ to suss out if it was for us

It most certainly is the most beautiful country

Be careful of the distances you plan to travel as although some places can seem clse onthe maps it can take a long time driving especially in the south island

If you are doing both islands remember that you can fly into Auckland and out of Christchurch and don't travel up the west coast of south island

There's nothing there and it takes forever to drive

Enjoy

Francis

People Space is offline Senior Member