Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Currently, or thinking about, PhD or other postgraduate study in NZ?

migratingfishswim is offline Junior Member

Default Currently, or thinking about, PhD or other postgraduate study in NZ?

hi,

i want to start a PhD in NZ in jan 2010 and just wondering if there's anyone here who's in the same position, or already there doing one?

it'd be great to swap info, impressions, etc.

many thanks
    emigrating to new zealand blog
    http://migratingfishswim.blogspot.com/

CrystalLil is offline Junior Member

Hi migratingfishswim

I know you posted this quite a while ago. It's been ages since I've looked at the forum. What's your area of interest? Where are you wanting to study?

I'm looking into doing postgraduate study in NZ just now. I have a BSc(Hons) degree from the UK and I'm struggling a bit with how the NZ universities view this. Because it was completed in 3 years as an undergraduate course, I THINK they want me to do an Honours year or Post Grad Diploma before I can get on to doing the Masters year.

Has anyone had any experience of this? I was hoping I could just go straight into doing the Masters year - especially as I have a first class honours? I can't seem to find any info about equivalency - and the NZQA appear to charge $450 to assess your qualifications. No thanks! Lots of the UK universities seem to list international equivalents, according to national guidelines, and they seem to view an NZ bachelor degree with honours as being the same as a UK BSc/BA (Hons).

Before I came over to NZ 2.5 years ago, I applied to Victoria University Wellington to do a masters in applied linguistics. I was accepted but they insisted that I do it in 2 years. I have not ended up doing this for one reason and another! Now I'm thinking about doing a masters in public health or social anthropology (!) and I'd like to study at the University of Auckland - but it would seem that again they are insisting that I do the masters over 2 years.