Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: More than a bit discouraged

KiwiHopeful is offline God like figure

Default More than a bit discouraged

As some of you here may recall, I'm a teacher by profession. I've been in education for more than 10 years and hold an advanced degree plus another 45 credits. I've been both a teacher and, for the past three years, an administrator. If you'll allow me to indulge in a little self-promotion, I have a CV that just about anyone with my length of service would be proud to call their own.

Ive been here in Chch for a little over four months now. I was lucky enough to have been able to time my arrival to be here for hiring season. If you don't know (or haven't ever really thought about it) most openings in education are advertised during the last term of the school year. That's when the schools find out who's coming back and who isn't and what their needs will be for the coming school year.

I've applied for every education job in the Chch area that my experience would make me qualified for, from long-term relief teacher to deputy principal. I've sent out over two dozen resumes and cover letters. After studying the websites, school reviews, decile ratings, and mission statements, each was crafted to highlight the skills I believed to be a match for the school and position to which I was applying.

I have had exactly *zero* calls for interviews.

If I go back two or three years to when I started the process that led me to where I am today, I can recall visits to the Teach NZ website. There I saw a special section devoted to the recruitment of overseas teachers. At the time, if I recall correctly, they were offering a one-time stipend of $2,000 to overseas trained teachers who took teaching positions in NZ--I see that they have doubled that to $4,000 now. The site features personal stories of teachers from around the globe, including the US, who extol the virtues of NZ and its schools.