Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Survive on one income?!

thedans is offline Member

Default Survive on one income?!

ok ok ok.... i know everyone has a different lifestyle and terms of what they call livable.

with my disclaimer stated. based on pure opinion. Is it doable to live on one salary? let me remind you all i have a wife and three boys under the age of 5. I am a mechanical engineer in the US. I have no idea what they make in NZ. i have heard anywhere from 50-60K for similar experience.

From what i read, it is doable, but pretty much that's about all you will be doing is living (apart from free stuff of course). anyone care to comment? anyone else live off of one income? It sounds like it is pretty rare over there. I just don't want my wife working while our kids are still young. maybe when they all hit school age, she can start working part time or something if we find we need to. but it would be nice to be able to squeak by with me working alone.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

As you say, it's very much dependent on lifestyle choices, and also where you live in the country. Living somewhere like Auckland is more expensive than somewhere like New Plymouth. $50k in Auckland would be a struggle, if you wanted to live anywhere decent. $50k here in Hamilton would be a moderate lifestyle.

To work out affordability for your family, do a little research on the different areas, and take a look at the online shopping supermarkets to get a match up for the kind of things you currently buy weekly. $50,000 salary is $787.69 take home per week (after tax etc). You may also be eligible for "Working For Families Tax Credits", which is a weekly rebate from the government for your tax. For $50,000 the rebate is approx $70 per week.

Other expenses to consider:
    Telephone (Line rental alone is around $50/month)
    Broadband (Packages from $30+/month)