Thread: I have a resident visa question.

Jurax04 is offline Junior Member

Talking I have a resident visa question.

Good day to all.
    I have a resident visa I've been here in NZ for a month. I am a high school graduate and I came here to go to school to take up nursing. The only problem is that I am 16 and this April 23 2011 I am turning 17(which is the required age for nursing but the school opening is in febuary 2011 and they have denied me because of my age). Now I am thinking about working here and using that money to return home where the money will last longer due to the exchange rates so that my dad would not get more stressed with supporting me I am also doing this for his benifit. How long can I still retain my Residence visa? Please help any suggestions would be very helpful. Thank you.

BTW i got the residence visa from my father who is a citizen here, and another thing is my country of origin is not UK affiliated.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

If you had held your NZ residency long enough to be granted an Indefinite Returning Resident's Visa (usually this comes when you are in NZ with residency and have stayed there for at least 6 months in each of the first 2 years) you could have stayed out of NZ for quite a long time without losing your residency. If you only have a Returning Resident's Visa in your passport, you could only stay out of NZ up to the time before your RRV expires, which should be 2 years from activating your residency (I think). In this event, you would need to apply for another RRV and it is up to INZ to decide how long to give you. Sometimes it is only 2 weeks depending on the circumstances.