Thread: What do you think?

1happywoman is offline Senior Member
    Kawakawa, NZ, formerly Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Blog Entries

Default What do you think?

I got my ITA in the mail today and I am very happy. I already have the medical exam scheduled for Monday, and I have a new police report which I recently received from my family in the US. I am applying for PR as a skilled migrant. To that end, I have claimed I have 32 years of work experience as a nurse.

Here is my problem: The first years I worked as a nurse (approx 1976 to 1990) I worked at the hospital where I trained. I can get some sort of letter stating the dates that I worked there as a nurse. The hospital is still there, thank heavens!

After than, I got into home care. The agencies I worked for have all disappeared! One was sold to a larger company which has since been sold so many times and absorbed into other organizations, so I'm sure the records don't even exist anymore. The next place was bought by a larger corporation and our office was closed as a result. The company that bought it out went belly-up a few years later. The next company I worked for closed it's doors a year after I left. I may possibly be able to track down some history there, but doubtful. So, I have a gap from about 1990 to 1998 that I cannot get any proof that I worked as a nurse! (I have no records or pay stubs from those years.)

Of course, my last job, from 1998 to 2008 is no problem.
    So, I have 24 years I can prove that I worked as a nurse with some sort of documentation. What do you all think - will it make much of a difference, given my overall number of years worked as a nurse, that I can't document that 8 years?
    Arrived in Auckland on August 6, 2008.Now live in Kawakawa with my kiwi partner.
    I just started working at Bay of Islands Hospital at the beginning of December 2009.
    Work permit renewed and good until June 2010