Thread: ITA at last

missvee is offline Senior Member

Default ITA at last

:D Good news, yippee and bad news ?:( boo. I have my invitation to apply, at last. It really does depend on your case worker and how long it will take. Sent my EOI and got selected July.
    The bad news is because I am a midwife I have to be registered and the board are not sitting till January 8th, when my employer wants me to start work, my employer is not happy but my hands are tied.
    Rang immigration in New Zealand (believe me its easier and more helpful if you ring them direct, than actually contacting London which is useless) I asked them would it be easier for me to go as a tourist and put in my application for residency whilst there once I got my registration. I can but it will take longer. Your file has to be transferred to New Zealand and you have to be assigned a case worker. So it will be quicker to wait for my registration and then apply.
    Does anyone know how long it takes to be granted residency from this point. I have 140 points plus because i have a job and its a skills shortage.
    Does anyone know any other quick way of getting there, i.e. visa or work permit.

Missvee

LilAmy is offline God like figure

Default Re: ITA at last

Hi Missivee.

A few people have asked quicker routes to get to NZ when waiting on the Residency.

One way as long as you are 30 or under is to get a 12month working holiday visa. You can take up employment with that whilst waiting on your Residency.

Not too sure how the other visa's like Work Visa etc work. You can take up permy employment as well with a 12m WHV as long as your employers know you can only work for 12months until your other visa is granted.

Good luck!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries