Thread: A white American nurse's Kiwi migration experience

wildgoose is offline Banned

Default A white American nurse's Kiwi migration experience

A white American registered nurse's Kiwi migration experience from another forum, Expat Exposed :: View topic - EXPLORE: Is NZ's immigration drive ethical?

This is her Kiwi experience...

In my experience the immigration practices are not ethical because there is a serious disconnect between how NZ is portrayed by Kiwis and their government versus reality.

I am a registered nurse with a bachelors degree in nursing and graduate studies in computer science. I came here 4-years ago with a job, strong work experience and money in my pocket. I came to NZ eager and ready to experience new things. I had done my research and felt that I had a good base of NZ history, politics and current affairs.

I am very much needed in this country. When I came, I was 36, educated, healthy and highly skilled. I am also white and speak English just like they do in the movies. It would seem that I was everything NZ was looking for...

Racism
    I landed in Christchurch and met a lovely Austrlain couple on the shuttle to get my rental car. Later, I ran into them in Cathedral Square and they invited me to join them for dinner. I did and to keep it short, I enjoyed myself until they started with the racist talk. I was in shock. I was raised among some real racists and can say that some people in my family are racist, but they would never discuss their views in a restaurant with a stranger. I immediately thought "Thank God they are Australian." The experience was repeated about a week later in a Dunedin taxi by an old white Kiwi guy.