Thread: Am looking for and answer

goddy64 is offline Member
    Blog Entries

Default Am looking for and answer

I am an Electrician, my qualifications and experience have been assessed by Electrical Workers Registration Board of New Zealand and I was informed that I am qualified to be registered as electrician after sucessful complition of Part 3 practical course work. Before that is done I am qualified to apply for provisional License after I have meet some employment conditions.
    Does any one have information on any establishment that employ people with provisional license in New zealand.
    This job offer is what I need to be able to apply for work visa.

New Zealand Shores is offline Junior Member

Hi Goddy64

The trades sector in New Zealand is starting to pick up as we see an increase in residential development. As you are only eligible for a provisonal licence at this stage, providing you find skilled employment and complete the required safety traning course, any employer must have the capability to supervise you. Therefore, you are probably best to look at firms with more than a handful of employees so that time and staff are made available to supervise you.

If you meet the requirements, you may be able to apply for residence under the skilled migrant category right now. There is a special provision for Electricians who have been assessed by the Electricial Workers Registration Board as eligible for provisional registration. If your application meets all other requirements then immigration will grant you a 9 month open work visa to allow you to come to New Zealand and find skilled employment as an Electrician. Once you have done so, immigration will grant you with permanent residence under the skilled migrant category. Unfortunately this is not detailed in policy anywhere, but is common practise for Electricians who are eligible to submit an EOI but who are technically not eligible to be granted residence (without a job offer).

All the best

Sarah