Thread: New member hello

wleitzel is offline Junior Member
    The geographical center of Pennsylvania, USA.

Default New member hello

Hi all from a cold and snowy central Pennsylvania,USA. My wife Tina, son Ben and I live in a beautiful rural farming valley tucked away in the Appalachian mountains. We farm (intensive garden) 13 acres (5.26 hectares) using organic/permaculture methods, and either on farm or local resources. Currently seed garlic is our main crop, but we are putting in 180 highbush blueberries this Spring. I have been a builder for the past 30 years and now also consult and design for those wanting to build an interdependent environmentally sound small farm for themselves. I have recently started selling my art work as well. There will soon be examples of my acrylic paintings on my Ecosophy Farm website. I am a self taught naturalist with a deep ecology perspective. Hunting and gathering adds to our food and medicine supply. We rarely buy any food except dairy and grain products. Tina is an Administrator in the dietary department of a local retirement community. She enjoys music, readind and quilting as well as outdoor activities. Ben, now 10 years old, enjoys archery, soccer, music and drawing ... and of course READING. Fortunately he is not always in a book. Why do we want to leave a beautiful farm, close friends, positive community ties and family? That I'll save for thread #2. Thank you for this free and informative sight in our time of change. Warren

People Space is offline Senior Member

Default hello!

Wow. You do sound so very settled there and have future plans with planting etc.
    Now you have us all wondering what might your reasons be for considering a big uprooting
    -pun intended ;-)

wleitzel is offline Junior Member
    The geographical center of Pennsylvania, USA.

Default RE:hello new member