Thread: to pay or not to pay?

gethdine is offline Junior Member

Default to pay or not to pay?

Hi there , I am a nurse from London who is applying under the skilled migrant caregory and am in the throws of my EOI. I have found your community really helpful but wondered what peoples thoughts were about whether to pay for an immigration advisor (so far I have been quoted between 2000-3000) or to just do it myself and use the money towards the general cost of the whole process. I have a husband and 2 kids on the form too. What do people think? Any advice would be most appreciated.
    the whole process is starting to look daunting!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Gethdine, welcome to the forum.

From previous posts in the past, the general feeling seems to be that you can go through the application process yourself with the help of forums like this and save yourself a lot of money that could be put to better use. The greater part of what goes into the application involves collecting various documents together and, even with an immigration advisor assisting with the process, you would still have to do this part yourself and provide all the information that goes onto the form. As a nurse you should, hopefully, be able to go through to residency pretty easily if all is well with your medical and character records. An immigration advisor is OK if you have a particularly gritty problem to overcome but if your application is straight forward, there's no reason why you can't do it yourself and we're here to help out where we can.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.