Thread: Hello from a newbie

WonderingAloud is offline Junior Member

Default Hello from a newbie

Hi All!

Iv been lurking around on here for a while now and thought it was about time to say hello!

I have recently come back from a trip to New Zealand with my husband (and by recent I mean Monday- still very jetlagged!) and after absolutely loving what we have seen we are now getting into the nitty gritty of starting the relocation process.
    I am a midwife and my husband is in IT - although he is also a qualified carpenter. I attended an interview whilst in Wellington which went well, so I am hoping once I have the guts to tell my current employers I am leaving I will be able to supply Wellington with some references and hopefully have a job offer

The only problem we have is selling our house- ideally we would like to rent but we are still negociating with our bank whether they will let us do that. Selling could potentially cost us quite alot of money and time and, well, we want to be there NOW.

Visas seem to be a bit of a minefield too- to go through the skilled migrant category it says you need to start work within 3 months of recieving the visa, but no where does it say how long it takes to process, and also I dont know how long my house will take to sell if we go down that route. For all the components to come together at the same time seems abit too good to be true, so I am now looking into a working holiday visa and then applying for a permit to work once I get there.

Anyone with any suggestions would make my day as my brain is sooo frazzled with information!

So sorry for the long rant- I guess I am living up to my username, but am done now

x

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi, welcome to the forum

Getting everything to line up for the move is certainly a task. Selling the house is a common delay to people so you're certainly not alone.