Thread: Hi - newbie here with so many questions!

Nat
    Nat is offline Junior Member

Default Hi - newbie here with so many questions!

Hello, I'm Nat, I'm 25 from Leeds UK

goodness me, where to start, I have so many questions about relocating to NZ and don't know where to start really. Any guidance would be fantastic, it's all so overwhelming.

Basically, background info :

My husband (aged 32) has for several years worked in IT support. However last year we decided we were going to attempt a business venture and set up our own company (an online penny auction website), so he quit his job and we took out a second mortgage on the house plus several loans to get started, and despite a decent start it's gone downhill and we haven't had as much custom as we need to keep afloat. We're still desperately trying to keep it going but unless we win the lottery or something in the next couple of weeks we're going to have to end the business.

We're now in a situation where even if both him and I get full time jobs it won't be enough to cover the monthly outgoing bills.....not to mention the fact that I currently CAN'T get a full time job because I'm due to give birth to our third child in 2 weeks time!

So we've been trying to evaluate our options. If we sell our house we'd be able to pay off all the debts, but then we'd have nowhere to live. Well, okay, in this country we'd probably be able to buy something small to live in but for a family of 5 that's going to be pushing it a bit. It's awful that it's come to this but there you go, we took a risk with setting up the business and it didn't pay off.....our own stupid fault.