Thread: Indonesian trying to be Kiwi

feisy is offline Junior Member

Smile Indonesian trying to be Kiwi

hi, I am Feisy, currenty I am in Jakarta, Indonesia and is longing to move to NZ at soonest....

I am still confused whether I should wait for a job offer to go there - which is my preference actually, however, I dont want to wait so long....

I am an insurance broker, and been more than 10 years in the insurance industry.

Is it possible to enter NZ using visit visa, and trying to find a work using that visa? any job will do as a starter......
    I am going with my husband and my toddler....

Many thanks

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Feisy

Some people do enter NZ on a visit visa and look for work but it is not advisable to let immigration know this. Coming to NZ to look for work is always a risky option and it is even more so at the moment because jobs are not so plentiful due to the recession. If you did get an offer it would need to be in a skilled position and one that a kiwi couldn't do, so it couldn't be 'just any job'. Insurance broker is on the list of skilled occupations so, if you stick to that, you should be OK.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

Hi motherbear,
    I am thankful for your prompt reply

Are you suggesting me to apply for a skilled migrant visa? Will it be okay to apply for one, after my entrance to NZ?

I've heard that it's a lot easier to get a job if you are already inside the country.....

I couldnt find insurance broker under the list of skilled occupations, do you have the correct link for this?

I hope I dont trouble you so much....

Thanks again....

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries