Thread: New member

mouseandmoon is offline Junior Member

Default New member

Hi, my wife and I have two kids in Australia, which is where we want to be in the long term. But it looks so difficult to get into Aus - and expensive, 25,000 as a sponsored parent. So we have decided to begin our new life in New Zealand. My wifes sister lives in NZ and we plan to join her, staying in NZ for a few years before moving on to Aus.
    Anyway, I am just beginning to research the whole thing and it is a minefield of confusing information and so many options of entry. We were hoping to move over late 2010. Perhaps that is a little optimistic!

I've looked around the web forums and this one seems to be the best, being open, honest and friendly - I look forward to the journey.....

Best wishes to everyone.
    mouseandmoon

oops sorry, I fogot to tell you where we live - Shropshire, UK. Thanks

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Welcome aboard M&M.

I've heard that Oz is difficult to get into, but NZ immigration is no walk in the park either. Can I ask if you will ultimately be wanting to work in Oz or just retire there? Why I ask is that Oz has a retirement visa if you wanted to go via that route rather than being sponsored. I can't honestly say whether it would be any cheaper though because I believe you still have to prove that you have sufficient assets to be allowed to settle there. Annoyingly, NZ doesn't yet have a retirement visa although the new government were talking about it at one point. Currently there is a huge waiting list of parents waiting to be sponsored by their families in NZ so it's very daunting for those folks, like me, who haven't even joined the queue yet . I don't know what the timescale is for sponsoring other family members but, for your sake, I hope it's not that long.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

Thanks MB.