Thread: Is there any chance?

Paula31 is offline Junior Member

Default Is there any chance?

Hi to all,

I'm new to this forum and have been researching into emigrating for over a year now. Originally, we looked at Oz, but the more I look at New Zealand the more it appeals to me.

I'll start with a little bit of info to see if anyone can shed any light.

Me - 33 years, married, 3 children, 14,12 and 5. I am currently studying English Literature with creative writing at university and have just completed my first year.

OH - 36 years, been out of work for 12 months (due to current economic climate), but used to work as a UPVC window fitter, with a lot of joinery and building work involved. He has also completed his first year at college doing joinery (wanted to make the most of his time) and is going back in September. He has been doing this work for over 10 years but just wanted some certificates to back him up as he doesn't yet have any.

So, big question, would we have a chance of getting into New Zealand? Any help much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Paula

zummerzet_lou is offline your flexible friend
    Blog Entries

Your first port of call is probably to go onto the immigration website, and fill in their point calculator. This will give you an idea if you have enough points to apply for Permanent Residenency visa.

If not, your other option is get try and geta job offer, which will boost your points (and apply for PR).

Others here have gone to NZ on a visitors visa, found work and retrospectively apply for a work permit, From here, you can apply for residency.

How do your children feel about moving? A lot of parents with older children are met with some resistance to them leaving schools, friends etc?

HTH to start,

Lou
    EOI Submitted 8th July 2007, 140 points no job offer.
    EOI Selected 18th July 2007
    ITA pack received 12th Oct 2007
    Completed ITA posted to NZIS 26th November 2007
    Case Officer assigned approx 22nd Feb 2008