Thread: Help! Am new and haven't a clue

mary is offline Junior Member

Smile Help! Am new and haven't a clue

I'm not sure if this is right, i am a forum posting virgin.
    Have come across this site i my investigation into life in NZ.

Hi

I am Mary and with my partner Paul and our 2 boys (4 and 2) we are considering the life changing move, went to the Emigrate show in London and were enthused.

I am a teacher so i guess thats how we may get in - Paul is in media - not sure about that one!

May attend the teachers seminar at NZ house next week.
    Questions: do i have to fill out an EoI - havent got that far yet.
    Would people advise on a recce - we were thinking camper van for three weeks if possible. Money at a minimum as per.
    We havent a clue where, so i need to do lots of investigating.

Got a few contacts who have family in NZ and plan to have good old chats to them.

We want to go for:
    1. For a better outdoor life for us and kids
    2. I think why not, can i see myself moving anywhere in UK for a life change?
    3. Life is too short why not step up to the challenge.

BUT:
    1. Age old - family, friends etc
    2. I work Part time here for kids not keen on slogging my guts full time, what if Paul cant get a job?
    3. Is the tax high? Trying to figure out inforamtion and it looks it?
    4. My other half thinks we are going to have this fab new life? I am being realistic by thinking things will probably be worse than better for a while.
    5. I am very torn what we are giving up - job, friends and family. What we will gain - sunshine, outdoor life, bigger house, out of rat race. Looks incomparable when you write it down:

Have read books, signed up to email advice etc but its a minefield, i am a busy lady and just wondered if anyone can offer advice, tell us good and bad points. I know, iknow its down to us but its also good to know people are there to help.