Thread: Hello from Yorkshire

lee55555 is offline Junior Member

Default Hello from Yorkshire

Hello All,

Just joined the forum and hope to pick up loads of info regarding a move to Australia or New Zealand.

I am 35 and my wife is 28, our 2 kids are 2 and 4.

I will be looking to gain employment as an electrical/electronic field service engineer, so any info on this would be much appreciated.

Also, we don't know where to go, at the moment we have got Auckland in mind but are a bit concerned about the earthquakes and volcanos etc... is this something to worry about of not? if it is then where would be the best place to settle in Australia.

We are hoping to be looking at properties with a value of the equivalent to 120k -150k, is this possible for a modest 3/4 bedroom property.

Any info appreciated.

zummerzet_lou is offline your flexible friend
    Blog Entries

Hello and Welcome,

We recently emigrated to Christchurch, on the South Island. I'm a software engineer, and am pleased to say that I found employment easily once here. Prior to our move, employers weren't too interested.

We have just bought a lovely 4 bed house outright - for just under $300k, which at the exchange rate we got was 106k UKP.

As for the earthquakes, yes there are loads according the the quake watch website (Can't remember the address). We have been here 5 months and not felt one yet. Yes, it does worry me a little ... and was partially the reason why we didn't want to live in Wellington, which lies on a fault line - but I figure, what's the point worrying about what might happen ... no serious quakes or volcanoes here, so more likely to be involved in a traffic accident or something ...

Lou
    EOI Submitted 8th July 2007, 140 points no job offer.
    EOI Selected 18th July 2007
    ITA pack received 12th Oct 2007
    Completed ITA posted to NZIS 26th November 2007
    Case Officer assigned approx 22nd Feb 2008
    Immigration interview 7th May 2008
    PR AIP 10th May 2008