Thread: Geordies in NZ

senseiclark is offline Junior Member

Default Geordies in NZ

Hi all

Newcastle born couple here moved to sunny Bay of Plenty in Nov 2006.

Im a high school teacher and former pro musician my wife is working at the local council(she used to work for Inland revenue in UK). We had a nightmare getting here through all the red tape and medical problems, NZQA etc but we persisted and appealed etc and now here we are. We have 2 sons, 9, the other 17. Im mad into sports bikes, Moto GP etc(Had to sell me bike in UK before coming here) Got no biking or muso buddies here though and im missing that

anyhoo. All you prospective Kiwis etc if your having a problem with the immigration system we probably went through it. It took us 20 months from initial job offer until I was on the plane!!!!

anyone wanna get in touch, feel free

Lee and Barbara

Welshgirl is offline Super Moderator
    Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum both

I think I'm correct in saying you're the first Geordies we've had on here *hides in case she's wrong and gets shouted at*

Sorry to hear you had a bit of a difficult time to get here, but all's well that ends well, eh?

We lived in Tauranga when we first came to NZ, in Ohauiti but we moved to Hamilton after a few months and been here ever since. Pity cos I love music and I love motorbikes (although I won't pretend my knowledge of them is fantastic ), we could have talked for hours (actually, I would have made YOU talk for hours, I love the Geordie accent) hehehe.....

Anyway, welcome again, hope to see you around

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Welshgirl View Post
    I think I'm correct in saying you're the first Geordies we've had on here *hides in case she's wrong and gets shouted at*