Thread: starting the eoi process... help

punkfish is offline Junior Member
    Blog Entries

Default starting the eoi process... help

Hi, Me and my partner are looking into submitting an eoi and find it quite confusing.

I know this may seem like a silly question but with regards to the points system. Does one of you complete an eoi and mention your partner in the application? Are the points based on both of you or do you pick the person with the most points? Also I noticed that if you have a job offer you gain a lot more points. Do you have to actually take the job once in new zealand or is it more to do with the fact that it shows your employability?

I would prefer not to start working straight away as would like to explore the country for a couple of months and buy a house first. Any advise would be much appreciated.

I am 28 and work as fundraiser in a University. I have an degree in Illustration ( does this mean I can't use my degree as a qualification as it is not relevant to my job?). My partner has worked in the print industry for the last 20+ years and is also a qualified engineer. Do you think this would come undr the skilled migrant section.

Sorry I kow this is long one but there are so many questions... finally my partner has taken voluntary redundancy and will be mortgage free. He would like to become a qualified electrician and/or plumber. Is it better to get the qualifications over here first or wait until in New Zealand as he is worried that the regulations being so vastly different and having to retrain once in New Zealand.

If you could answer some or all of these questions that would be great.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Punkfish and welcome on board.

Quote Originally Posted by punkfish View Post