Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello - thinking of making the move

welwynrose is offline Member

Default Hello - thinking of making the move

Hi all - thought I'd join this forum as like a bolt from the blue the OH has said he would like to move to NZ - now I'm quite happy with this idea - I have no family and have lived all over the UK so moving somewhere new doesn't faze me - the OH only has 3 members of his family, nan, mum & sister & is looking for a new challenge but I'm not sure where to start - is finding a job the most important thing - the OH is a self-employed Painter & Decorator & I'm an Administrator in Barristers Chambers who deals with the accounts, payroll, IT & phones, website, premises management, marketing etc - we've got no children and will not be having children, so good schools etc are not a worry, we have a house with about 7 years left on the mortgage and have the usual credit card debts etc so would have to clear those but have a fair bit of equity in the house - if we do decide to go for it roughly how long does it take & where is the best place to start - any suggestions will be greatly appreciated

sleepy is offline Junior Member

Hi

Im pretty new to this all to, so not gonna offer any advice, 'cause chances are it'll just be wrong, someone will be along soon with answers to all your questions.

Im looking to go in less than six months though, so Im cutting it a bit fine really. I'll continue looking for a job before that time (it's a lot harder, if not almost impossible? to get a Residency without a good job offer), but if nothing materialises I'll hopefully head out on a one or two year working visa and look for a job while im over there. Once I've found one, I can then apply for residency whilst in New Zealand.

Good luck with it all, and keep us informed of how it's going

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi, welcome to the forum