Thread: Reintroducing myself...

GordonUK is offline Junior Member

Default Reintroducing myself...

Hi,
    My name is Gordon. I'm from the UK.
    (If you'd guessed that already, my username is clearly well chosen.)
    I'm a primary school teacher who is seriously considering the possibility of emigration to NZ. I'm keeping an interested eye on all those posts about cost of living compared with incomes...
    I'd be interested to hear from any other teachers (particularly primary) who have made the move.

Welshgirl is offline Super Moderator
    Blog Entries

Hey Gordon,

Re-welcome to the forum

Why did you pick NZ? Are you considering moving to any other country? You said you are seriously considering the possibility of coming here - what would have to happen to make you definitely want to come here? Sorry to be so nosey, I'm just curious as to why people decide a) to leave the UK and b) to move to NZ in particular.....

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

again Gordon. Good to see you're still kicking around the forum.

Quote Originally Posted by GordonUK View Post
    I'm keeping an interested eye on all those posts about cost of living compared with incomes...
    Yes, always a biggy, that one, and can end up being quite controversial, too.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

GordonUK is offline Junior Member

Hi Welshgirl,
    I picked NZ as my first choice for any eventual migration from the UK for a number of reasons:
    • It's a beautiful place, and I find natural beauty refreshing and conducive to happiness;
    • It's a relatively sparsely populated place and I don't like crowds;
    • It appears to suffer relatively low levels of crime;
    • It appears to suffer less from the materialistic approach that places wealth and possessions above true quality of life;