Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello Hello Hello

loopylu is offline Member

Default Hello Hello Hello

Thought I'd join in and re-introduce myself too...

So... hi my name's Lucy and I'm 28 and currently living in the UK... I'm currently studying for my doctorate in Clinical Psychology and if all goes to plan I finally graduate this September

I have always wanted to live abroad and have spent quite a bit of time in various countries and although I've not yet visited New Zealand I've always felt that's where I'll end up... however my partner is not so sure (predominantly because he's always lived in the same small town and is really really close to his family and can't imagine living abroad)... he's always known I've wanted to emigrate but it's only now becoming a reality and he's having second thoughts so we've come up with a compromise...

I love travelling and have talked him into taking a round-the-world trip for 12 months starting in September (Central and South America, Australia, Singapore, Thailand and of course spending a good few months on a WHV in New Zealand)... which he is now really excited about and really wants to do... he hopes that this will get the 'travel bug' out of my system and I'll want to come back to the UK after... while I believe that he'll catch that 'travel bug' and fall in love with NZ and realise that he can cope away from the UK and want to emigrate too... so we'll have to see what happens with that one but he is open to the fact that this trip may change his thoughts and feelings and I've got my fingers and toes crossed that New Zealand will wow him too (he's a total outdoor adventure sort of person and am convinced he'll love it when he sees what NZ has to offer)...

So that's me really... we've spent the last 15 months completely gutting and renovating our house and are now desperately trying to get it finished in time to start our round-the-world venture when I graduate...