Thread: Hello from Jakarta!

mowiekatz is offline Junior Member

Post Hello from Jakarta!

Hi All!!

My name is Silvie and I'm from Jakarta - Indonesia.

Anyway.. I really really want to work and live in New Zealand. I graduated from Secretary academy and have 6 years working experiences in secretarial and administrative job.

I got questions. anybody can advise?.. :

1. How much is my chance to get a job in NZ?
    2. Is there any employer who would like to hire foreign worker in this sector?
    3. What other skills that I must have to broaden my chance of getting hired?

Thank you all for your kind attention.

regards,

silvie

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Silvie

Welcome to the forum.

Getting a job in NZ is easier if you are there because potential employers seem to like to see applicants on a face to face basis and, of course, you are more attractive to them because you are already in the country and not just thinking about it. It shouldn’t be too difficult to find a job with your skills and it shouldn’t make any difference that you are Asian as there are many Asians working in NZ already. There may be the odd one or two employers who prefer to hire Europeans or Americans, but that’s their loss.

Do you know if your qualification from Secretary Academy is recognised by NZIS? This is important because the number of points you can get for a qualification and work experience is what helps you to be accepted for Permanent Residency. Also if your job is a managerial type position that will help because those jobs are on the skills shortages list. It’s a good starting point.