Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Uni: Waikato vs VUW

nomadman is offline Junior Member

Default Uni: Waikato vs VUW

Hi,

My wife and I are planning to continue our studies in NZ. I will be doing a 2 yr masters program in water science and she will do a graduate diploma of teaching to work as a primary teacher. What is the public opinion of having a degree from Waikato vs VUW? I think both towns would be great to live in but I get the impression Waikato may be a bit cheaper.

Thanks,

Scott

starbuck is offline Junior Member
    Bucks, UK (originally from Ngaruawahia New Zealand..)

Hiya, I vote for Hamilton, I did my first degree there and my family and I are returning to NZ in October where I am doing GdipT in early Childcare at Waikato. Its a nice town with everything you need, close to beaches, Auckland and has many nice pubs and I think the cafe scene has hit too!!

T

People Space is offline Senior Member

And here's a vote for VUW.
    I have studied at Otago, Vic and Canterbury, and recommend them in that order.(Subject to the course you require being offered there!)
    Vic has the advantage over Waikato of being in a more metropolitan centre. There are so many cultural and outdoor activities right at your doorstep to distract you from your studies! Accommodation can be relatively expensive, but Wellington is a great place to live.

dean is offline Junior Member

Heya - I did the Post Grad Dip Teaching (primary) at VUW and would recommend it. Can't speak to schooling at Waikato, but I can say that I didn't think too much of Hamilton as a place to live. Wellington on the other hand is very cosmopolitan with heaps of cultural events/bars/restaurants/etc going on. A much prettier location as well. Good luck!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Waikato University 'will turn students away'
    By NATALIE AKOORIE - Waikato Times
    Last updated 12:30 28/08/2009