Thread: words of wisdom needed

new start is offline Junior Member

Smile words of wisdom needed

Hi, this is my first time posting and need someone to put my mind at rest. We submitted our ITA on 5th jan 09 for residency under the skilled migrant without job offer. although slow things going ok and should be allocated a case officer in the next couple of weeks. Our 15 year son has cerebral palsy, he goes to mainstream school and walks unaided unless really tired then he uses he reluctantly uses his wheelchair. The only support he needs is for someone to help carry his bag between lessons and for someone to scribe for him when there is a long piece of writting to unable him to keep up. He needs no medication or operations and we have supplied a letter from his consultant which states his diagnosis treatment and prognosis. My concern is people have told us that nzis will not let our son have a visa, I'm hoping that someone out there with similar circumstances can put my mind at rest.

Thankyou in advance

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi,

This is a list of conditions that may cause problems with immigration applications.

Appendix 10: Medical conditions deemed to impose significant costs and/or demands on New Zealandís health and/or education services

HIV infection
    Hepatitis B surface antigen positive, with abnormal liver function
    Hepatitis C, RNA positive, with abnormal liver function
    Malignancies of solid organs and haematopoietic tissue, including past history of, or currently under treatment
    Exceptions are:
    a) treated minor skin malignancies (not melanoma)
    b) malignancies where the interval since treatment is such that the probability of cure is > 90%, e.g.: early stage (I & IIA) breast cancer at 5 years; low risk prostate cancer at 5 years; early stage (Dukes A & B1) colorectal cancer at 5 years; childhood leukaemia at 5 years