Thread: Advice needed with my Visa please......

twowheelboy is offline Junior Member

Default Advice needed with my Visa please......

Hello all,

I'm new to this wonderful site and would like to start off by asking for some advice if thats not too cheeky

The thing is I have a full Australian Permenant Resident visa and need some things cleared up, please bare with me.

1. I've been told that the Australian visa is valid for NZ, is that the case?

2. It was issued in 2004 (1st entry within 12 months which I did) and expires in 2009. It states must not arrive after 24 March 09/Muliple travel/holder permitted to remain indefinitely etc. My question is, must I arrive before that date and not leave again before the end of the period when I would be eligible for Citizenship?

3. Is there anyway to extend this period or apply for some kind of renewal visa?
    4. How long is the citizenship qualifying period?

I went to Australia and although its a nice place it didn't feel like a place I wanted to settle. Its very hot and pretty much a beach culture as far as I can see and I love rugged coast-lines, mountains and seasons, hence my re-think towards NZ.

I'm not exactly ready for moving as I've just bought a house so my plans are all up in the air, just need to find out what options are.

I'm sure theres lots more questions I need answering but any help with the above points would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Cliff is offline Oh Masterful One
    Blog Entries

Why don't you pick up ozzie citizenship. It only takes 3 years and you just about or even have that. Ozzie citizen can come to NZ without issue not sure about PR status.
    Cheers

Cliff

Nelson, New Zealand
    NZ Citizenship in 2000, been in NZ 15 years now
    Arrived NZ in 1997 from Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

"New Zealand isn't just a physical place it is a state of mind."

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries