Thread: would love some opinions

skafee is offline Junior Member

Default would love some opinions

Hi all im new to this whole thing but just came across this forum so thought id explain mine and my girls whole situation and see what people thought. i am an nz citizen and i met an american girl while studying in dunedin in february and we have been pretty much inseparable ever since, the thing is she was on a student exchange sort of program and was just there for the semester, short story is i dropped out of uni and followed her back to the US to try to figure something out. we have decided to get married (yes quite soon i know, but sometimes you are just sure) and we want to come back to NZ to study together. only problem is that if she isnt a resident then she has to pay huge international student fees. she is eligible to get a working holiday visa, so if she got that and came here with me, are we able to get married here? then if she applied for residency through marriage at the end of this year after doing a few months work, (i know it might not quite be 12 months but we have a ton of photos of our travels and could get letters from a lot of people) what are the chances of her being granted residency in time for the 2009 semester over here starting in feb? just looking for peoples insights as to weather or not we might get this all done in time.

thanks for looking!

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Skafee, welcome.

As you are a NZ citizen, you could sponsor your lady for residency. Being married alone wouldn't qualify her to apply - you need to have been living together for 12+ months prior to applying and be able to prove this.

Had your partner been intending to work in NZ, she could have got a Work Permit through her relationship with you.