Thread: Teaching in NZ in future

xueli is offline Junior Member

Default Teaching in NZ in future

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum...pls correct me if I do make any mistake.

I am planning to persue my tertiary studies in New Zealand's university (I have applied for some univerisities) next year, which is, 2009. I am interested in teaching, so Bachelor of education is my choice.

Do I have a chance to teach in New Zealand's school after my graduation (which is, about 3/4 years later)? Is the demand good? If so, teacher of which subject(s) is needed there?

Also, will it be easier for me to get a PR there after I work as a teacher? Or they have enough teachers and will ask me to go to my own homecountry after my graduation as I am not needed anymore?

Thanks in advance!

RisenAshes is offline Member

Teaching jobs are bountiful in NZ, especially Secondary schools.

The subjects that are in need are English, Maths, Science and Technology.

I'm sure that you'll do fine in a teaching career in NZ

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Xueli. to MTNZ.

There is a shortage of teachers in NZ although some people have reported difficulty in getting a teaching job there. Usually, if you are coming from outside NZ, you will need to have 2 years of teaching experience after you have qualified before you can teach there. Perhaps it will be different if you are gaining your qualification in NZ though.

If you go to the NZ Website List and look under Education Related Sites you will find quite a few links which may be of interest to you and may answer some of your questions.

Teaching is on the Long Term Skill Shortage List so you would eventually be able to get PR from that.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

kiwiguy is offline Member

Hi think about doing early childhood papers as there is a huge shortage in ECE