Thread: First step to New Zealand

reiner is offline Junior Member

Question First step to New Zealand

Hi everyone, i'm new here and i would like to ask some questions about your personal experiences. Living in christchurch has been me and my partner's dream, so we're trying to get there if there any chances. We're working on the EOI and still confused about the NZQA qualifications part since my degree is not on the list, I was graduated Diplome of Commerce from Melbourne Institute of Business and Technology by the way. Should I get assessment from NZQA first before submitting my EOI? I'm also thinking about just going to christchurch, get a job offer there, and working on my EOI on shore. Is it okay to go just like that on a visitor visa? How long is it till the visitor visa expired? Can i get a job offer before that time? Can ANY JOB be included as in term of job offer to gain more points on my EOI? I read somewhere on the forum that someone suggest to go to New Zealand bring the police certificate along and do everything on shore. I guess it takes a lot of nerve and risk to do so. Has anyone just done it? Many thanks before.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Reiner and welcome.

Many people have gone to NZ on a visitor's visa and looked for work when they were there but, of course, you mustn't let INZ know this is your intention. How long you can stay on a VV depends on where you are from. Those who come from the UK, for instance, can stay for up to 6 months but some other countries it is only 3 months. I'm not sure how long you would be able to stay, coming from your country, so it would be best to ask at the NZ Embassy there to give you an idea of how long you would have. This is a guide to applying for a VV for NZ.

If you want to claim extra points for a job offer on your EOI, the job offer must relate to your qualification. You can't use just any job offer.