Thread: What does it take to be registered as a medical doctor in NZ?

esculape is offline Junior Member

Default What does it take to be registered as a medical doctor in NZ?

Hi, everyone!
    I am an overseas doctor, having been working for 15 years in general surgery. The country of my current employement has the health system comparable with NZ, which allows me to be registered as a medical doctor in NZ under provisional general scope.
    Although all the requirements for this form of registration are described in the Internet site of NZ Medical Council very clearly, I still have some questions.
    For example, what is the role of my current employer in the registration process? Should I look for a job offer in NZ before all?

I would be pleased to get messages from the doctors of NZ who have had such an experience or anyone who is familiar with this topic.

Thanks in advance,
    Esculape.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by esculape View Post
    For example, what is the role of my current employer in the registration process? Should I look for a job offer in NZ before all?
    Esculape. Welcome to the forum.

I'm not sure if we have any doctors on the forum but, if we have, perhaps this post will flush them out .

If you are a doctor I guess you wouldn'thave much trouble getting residency in NZ as you'd probably have enough points without a job offer. However, it is always a good idea to try for a job offer as it could help push your application through more quickly and it's one thing less to worry about when you get there. Knowing that they already have a job to go to must be a relief to many people.